Greed

It’s such a pity to see people enslaved by their own insatiable love for money… the end all and be all of a good number of people I know.

GreedI, myself, was brought up in an environment that believed that “money is king”… my old life was an endless pursuit of worldly wealth.  It was all that mattered.  It was everything to anyone I ever met within my own sphere.  My lifestyle revolved around this vicious cycle of work-pay-splurge-work.  It seemed great… or so I thought.

Looking back now, I realize that even though a huge part of my youth believed that money could fill the void inside me, the emptiness was just too much to satisfy.  It was merely temporary comfort for the vast vacuum in my life.

It’s true… what you gain materially pales in comparison with what can be obtained through spiritual sustenance.  An individual who truly knows God, loves God.  And a person that loves God, needs nothing else but God.

And needing nothing else but the Lord leads to less no disappointments, and loosens one’s grip on worldly expectations.  Letting go of worldly expectations detaches you from the material…

Greed is “lust”… lust for money… and lust is never satisfied.  That being the case, how can a person filled with greed, which is never content with anything, ever be happy?

You can acquire all the riches in the world and still feel empty.  Your life will never be truly filled until you have surrendered everything to the Lord…

Ironic isn’t it?  To be filled, you have to surrender everything… to empty yourself.  The same way the Lord teaches that in order to be forgiven, you yourself have to forgive… that you should love your enemies, not just your friends.  But it’s true.  These are God’s divine ways… and His ways never fail nor do they ever disappoint.

All you have to do is to trust, believe and have faith that the Lord is ALL you need.  Receive Him and let Him do wonders in your life… wonders that money and wealth can never be able to buy or measure up to.

What profit is there for one to gain the whole world and forfeit his life?  -Mark 8:36

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment